Books, Reading

June Wrap-up (otherwise known as I read HOW MANY books?)

IMG_0112

 

June was a weird month for me. Not because I didn’t do any reading (oh I did reading lads, lots of reading) but because I was dog-sitting at about 3 different places, making me only home for about 3 days in the past 3 weeks. Which isn’t bad, except when you have to come home, repack books and head back out. I’m finally home now, sitting in front of my lovely overstuffed shelves and thinking about how many books that I read over June.

I read a grand total of 27 books. Which is great! Until I look closer at my huge TBR mountain and realize that of that 27, 6 were from my personal shelves, and 3 were rereads. So technically while all the rest of them were from the library, I only managed to make 3 books off my physical TBR go onto my “Hallelujah, I read that book” shelf!

But at least I was reading, and I did save some money because I was at the library all the time. But that’s a different story for a different day! 🙂

Now, to the books!

The Best books I read in June (4-5 star rating)

  • The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien (Can you be a LoTR fan and not have read this? I finally read it, and I really enjoyed it, though I feel like the LoTR and the Hobbit are tighter and more cohesive, I did enjoy it quite a bit, and I can finally say that I have read it!)
  • Unequal Affections by Lara Ormiston (this was so close to being a full 5 star rating, it got a 4.75 star from me. It was so good, a reimaging of Pride and Prejudice, but if Elizabeth accepted Mr. Darcy’s first proposal. I loved it and thought it was very well done, I didn’t like a few things which is why it wasn’t a solid 5 star, but if you like Pride and Prejudice, be sure to pick it up!)
  • The long way to a small angry planet by Becky Chambers (Road trip in space with what felt like the crew of the Serenity. I loved this book, it was a solid 4 star from me again)
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. (I read this in high school and let’s be real dude, I hated this book. But decided this year that I was going to reread some of the classics that people seemed to love and this made the list. I actually really enjoyed it, however I can understand why I didn’t like it when I was in school. But reading for pleasure and reading for a grade are 2 totally different things)
  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandyha Menon. (Super cute book, I gave it a 4 star, it was super adorkable and sweet but it didn’t really blow me out of the water. It was honestly like a Hallmark movie but in book form, you knew they were going to get together and the fun was watching how they did.)
  • Every Breath by Ellie Marney (Retelling of Sherlock as the boy next door. Plus it was written by an Australian author, and I don’t know about you, but even if people don’t let me know it’s from ‘Stralia, I can tell, they have a very brash tone. Anyways, it was cute and gory and sweet…and yes there was murder and it’s quite nice, solid 4 stars)
  • All your worth by Elizabeth Warren (one of the better finance books I’ve read, and trust me I’ve read a lot of them, but this one made so much sense and I really enjoyed it)
  • The book whisperer by Donalyn Miller (this is a book that a lot of teachers use to understand/mimic how to teach kids to love reading. This was a lot of good points, not just for teachers but I would strongly say that if you have kids, this would be a good book for you too, or really any reader.)

 

IMG_0079

 

Books that were meh (3-3.75 star rating)

  • Nikola Telsa: A spark of Genius by Carl Dommeruth-Costa. (This was an interesting book, and since I really didn’t know much about Tesla it was good knowledge but it was a bit dry in the middle, mainly when it was talking about the science behind a lot of his experiments, still good to read though)
  • Make your bed by Admiral William McRaven (Don’t get me wrong, this was a decent book, but because it came from a rousing graduation speech, that is pretty much the feel you get through the whole book. And it was interesting, especially the Hell Week part, but for the most part I flew through this book quickly and it didn’t make too much of an impact on me)
  • Frogkisser by Garth Nix (retelling of the frog princess, sounds great, but in reality it felt too cobbled together, didn’t have much of a plot and seemed more MG then YA. It was still a decent read, but I think that had there been some more editing and lengthening of the story and plot, it would have been better)
  • The Spirit Thief by Rachel Aaron (disclaimer, this did get a 3.75 but I’ve heard that the other books in this series are much better. I enjoyed this one but even though it was fast paced and quick on the draw, it kinda forget some things, like introductions…world building….that sort of thing. And some of the stuff, hopefully will make sense when I read the sequel, but it didn’t make sense when I was reading it. I will be picking up the sequel though, cause I’m curious to see how it goes)
  • The Ocean at the end of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (so it was….weird….and different…and I feel like if it had been a bit longer I would have liked it more, but it just kinda dropped you into this story, but then was so open-ended at the ending…it wasn’t for me. I know lots of people who loved it, but I wasn’t one of them.)
  • The incredible adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil (I had so many high hopes for this book, but sadly it just didn’t live up to my hype. It was interesting but it…just felt like it dragged on and on without any real point?)

 

The books I wish I hadn’t read (1-2 stars)

  • The little book of Hygge by Meik Wiking (Did you know that Danes are the best at being comfortable? Well if you didn’t, you will by the end of this insufferable, blowhard book which basically told me nothing new except that I now have a newfound hatred for the word Hygge. It was so not worth a read at all)
  • The zookeeper’s wife by Diane Ackerman (maybe if the wife of the zookeeper was done more in first person, rather then third; maybe if she showed more empathy towards the humans hiding from death and concentration camps then feeling bad for the animals; and maybe if we got it in a more linear way, I would have liked it more. But we didn’t, so I didn’t.)
  • Holding up the universe by Jennifer Niven (I was really hoping that I would like this one, I heard so many rave reviews, I was hoping that I would fall in love with this book, but sadly it was not to be. I didn’t like one of the main characters, had such a hard time liking even the writing style and …ugh…nope. not for me)
  • The Anatomical shape of a heart by Jenn Bennett (published under the title Night Owls for the UK….and I am a sad little melon of discontent cause I WANTED to like this book but seriously, it was not to be. Girl on girl hate, double-standards and manic pixie dream boy…not my cuppa to be honest.)
  • Hunted by Megan Spooner (black sheep opinion y’all, I had such a hard time with this book and I really wanted to like it. I love BatB and was really hoping that this book would be awesome but sadly it is a nope. I felt like there was very little character growth, I was MASSIVELY confused by the “twist” at the end and I just…I don’t care for it)
  • We were liars by E. Lockhart (I thought this was a pretty interesting book but the main reason I didn’t end up liking it was the tone throughout the whole book. Rich snobs and money and nah bro I’m good)
  • Books for living by Will Schwalbe (Nope. memoir disguised as a book about books which I didn’t ask for and certainly didn’t want. Also the tone of this “author” was pretentious, snobbish and downright rude. Hard pass)
  • Jane Austen: A life by Claire Tomalin (Y’all know I’m nuts about Jane Austen, and so I have a tendency to get books about her, and this one….was…so….BORING. Like it was about everyone else BUT Jane. And dry. And sleep inducing. And boring. pass)
  • The Assistants by Camille Perri (I love when I go into a book with little to no expectations and when I finish I think “That pretty much played out about how I thought it would” and this was one of those books. I think I would have liked it more had the characters been a bit more fleshed out…and if we possibly got a different view then the MC, who I can’t even remember right now. )

 

Books I reread:

  • Radical by David Platt
  • Restless by Jeannie Allen
  • Pride and Prejudice audiobook read by Rosamund Pike
  • breaking free by Beth Moore

 

So that’s what I read this month. There were a surprising amount of books I didn’t care for, whereas I feel like in May I had more books I liked. But this is the burden of being a reader, some months you get amazing results and others, you limp by and hope that the next month you do better.

Have a great day Dragons! And remember, life is too short to read mediocre books (apparently that’s what I was here for this month!)

Cheers!

~Stephanie

Standard

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-up (otherwise known as I read HOW MANY books?)

  1. oh, man that is a lot of books! Um…I read 3 so you can see how good I am at reading. I’ve heard the snob complaint about We Were Liars before so I’ve been kinda putting off reading it because of that.

    Like

    • Hey at least you are reading something!! (I have a tendency to read really quickly so don’t feel bad!) I hadn’t actually heard of the snobbery in we were liars, but oh it’s so apparent as soon as you start reading. I do have to say, besides the tone, it was a pretty intriguing read, I just kinda hated the MC….:)
      thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

