Books, Reading

my literary love of the library

IMG_4982

 

 

 

When I was growing up, if we told my parents that we were bored, there would be only one thing said to us, “You can’t be bored, you have library books. Go read.” If however, we would say that we had finished them, and our sister’s books as well, they would tell us that we had ten minutes and they would take us to the library.

And then I would stagger out with another 20 books to read in a week and hoping my sister got some different Sweet Valley High or Nancy Drews then I did, so that I would have at least 40 books to last me for the whole 2 weeks.

I still frequent the library.

In fact, I just came from there today. Monday’s are always library days. It’s like me rewarding myself with books because I survived another Monday, but also that’s when the majority of my books are due, or when my holds show up. So I have just started going to the library on those days.

I really enjoy getting books from there, even though there are sometimes when I have to wonder what made that splotchy brown stain and hope that it wasn’t blood or something else, but maybe just dropped coffee?

This year I decided that I was going to implement a new rule so that if I wasn’t thrilled with a book I could just stop, and not feel guilty, and that is the rule of 50/5. If I’m not liking the book, not liking the characters and there isn’t something that is making me want to continue this book, after 50 pages or 5 chapters (whichever comes first) I can quit.

Growing up I was taught to finish each and every single book that I started, but even then there were sometimes when I just didn’t care for the book or I didn’t like what happened and would just set it down. Now because of my tenacious hold on my library books, I am totally fine with DNF’ing a book because it didn’t cost me anything. I didn’t pay for it, I didn’t get it for a gift, it was simply a book that while others might have liked, I didn’t care for, and that’s okay.

The truly great thing about reading is that there are so many books for so many different things. For instance, this time round at the library I happened to get a few YA books, but also I got a book about Nikola Tesla (because he fascinates me) a book about WW2 and a retelling of a fairy tale. On my hold’s list I have an autobiography about Theodore Roosevelt, a book about how to speak French fluently, and a book that I put on there because one of my friends just read it and said it was wonderful.

You don’t have to read what everyone else is reading and I think that’s what the best thing is about the library because if you are interested in it, they usually have it. And they never look down on the fact that your tastes range wildly from one section to the other. I mean, I browse my friends on goodreads (I’m dreams_in_blue on there if you want to be friends and see what I’m reading) and if I find something that sounds interesting it goes straight onto my hold list.

There are a few that I have already preordered simply because I know I’m going to love them (Short list: When Dimple Met Rishi, I believe in a thing called love, the Color Project, Sparks of Light, the Names they Gave us) but there are some that I would prefer to read from the library to see if they are worth it.

What about you friends? Do you utilize your library? What’s the best series/book you have found by random chance from there? What is one book you wish your library carried? Let me know down below!

Remember, life is too short for mediocre books! Happy reading Dragons!

~Stephanie

Standard

4 thoughts on “my literary love of the library

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    *raises hand* I am a HUGE library lover!! I go every week with my nieces/nephew and I’ve successfully got them obsessed with library books too. 😍 And I sooo agree that it’s just really awesome what a wide selection of books you can get! I remember one time borrowing out Game of Thrones plus a middle grade book and a few comics.😂😂 And the best part is, if you DON’T like them, you didn’t waste money!! WOOO. So yes and yes to library love. :’)

    Like

  2. The stain thing 😀 I’m glad I’m not the only one!
    Unfortunately, my library usually doesn’t have popular/new books. I live in a country where books are translated into our language, so there’s often a delay (think years). Some don’t get translated at all. Sometimes there are 2 parts to the series, but not the third xD I still do like the library. But it’s more of a source of new ideas for books. It rarely has the ones I want.

    Like

    • Ugh, that’s so not cool!! I’m sorry about that! Ours used to be really bad, not just about the books but also about ordering them in, and then we got some new city council members and it’s gotten up…whoa I don’t know if I would be able to wait years for books. Do you buy them outright then or does it still take a while?
      Hope you are having a great day!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

