Books, BookTube, Reading, Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 books that have been on your TBR since the beginning of time….

So, let’s be real y’all.

I have a lot of books. Mainly because I am a book-hoarding, shiny loving dragon who prefers to never run out of books to read because then that would be a fate worse than death.

And instead of being a smart bookish dragon and actually reading ALL THE BOOKS that are on my TBR pile…stack….mountain….I just banish them to the back of the pile and get new shiny books, ones that I read.

yep, I buy new books and read those, instead of the ones sitting there giving me stares…I’m fine…

This is in no particular order, and it’s quite a list of shame to be honest. To make sure that I got some that have been hanging around for a while, I limited my pickings to those that had been added before January 2016, that way I could tell how old “approximately” these books were. 🙂

1- Mistborn. This one should come as no real shocker to anyone who follows me on instagram or on Booktube, because that baby has been on so many of my TBR listings for months that it’s not even funny. I personally am interested in finishing the story, and Branden writes really well. I mean he builds a scene and it’s fantastic how great he builds the world, but this is huge.

Plus when i first got it I was unaware that it is in fact a trilogy, and every single one of those is way over 600 pages, really makes me just wonder if I could actually get through all of them…and considering the fact that I have been working on Mistborn for about 10 months well, yeah the trilogy is not looking solid.

2-Wolf by Wolf.

Alternate history where Hitler is still alive and you win a race to talk to him? Yes please that sounds amazing. And yet this book still is on my shelf, waiting for me to pick it up and read it.

3-The Nightingale.

I have heard rave reviews about this book, from a lot of BookTuber’s who loved this book, and I even got this for a random gift last year. And yet I still haven’t started it. I really think because this and Wolf by Wolf are both WW2 novels, maybe it’s a mood thing? Maybe I have to be in the right sort of mood to read those books? Or maybe I just don’t feel like sitting down with history for an evening. 🙂

4-A Tale of Two Cities.

This one has been on my TBR almost as long as Mistborn, and I’ve been working on it almost as long. I think the reason for the stopping and starting on this one is because Dickens is just…dull. And dark. And also, wouldn’t know a comma if it bit him in the armpit. But I want to read him. You know why, seriously, the main reason I want to read Dickens is because The Doctor is such a fanboy of him and his work (see Episode The Unquiet Dead). And I thought about it and realized I have only read 2 I think of his, the Oliver Twist one, and the one with the cake and the weird lady who stayed in her wedding gown? Great Expectations? But I’ve never really read any other of his, and wanted to try. I might get this one done by next year.

5-Tonight the streets are ours.

Ok, I bought this one when it first came out, because the cover was gorgeous. I wanted to read it right away but it still sits because of two reasons, the first is that I have heard of a lot of mixed reviews of this book, and because I am an indecisive dragon, I have let myself get jaded by those; and the second is that I found out that this author wrote a book that I have previously read, but actually really strongly disliked. Which makes me really uneasy to try and read it.

6-Rook.

I want to read this book badly. A standalone, with swoon-worthy scenes, set as a post-apoptotic society that has pieces of modern time but no knowledge of what it is, along with a pretty kickin’ female lead? Sign me up! Unfortunately, this is one you cannot read with another book racing through your head, and I was trying to read it with another book and that didn’t fly.

7-Graceling.

I really don’t know why I haven’t started this one. Possibly because it’s huge. And I got it just because hello sale at BookOutlet (I keep their site quite busy). But all in all, I haven’t even started it, so who knows when I will even start it (I hear 2018 is looking better for reading all these)

8-the Grisha trilogy.

Well, actually the last 2 of them, Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising. I fell in love with Leigh’s writing with Six of Crows and bought the Grisha trilogy immediately, and read the first one right away. But because I have a lot of books that I keep buying, I didn’t finish the series. And because my spirit animal is Dory, I cannot really remember anything about the first book, but do I reread the first book, when my TBR is so high? Who has the time for that?

9-TID: The clockwork princess

This is probably one of the ones I know I’m actually not going to finish. And the main reason is that I didn’t care for 2 of the 3 main characters and I felt like the story line was just not pulling me in. So that is one that is on my TBR that I just probably will be doing a book unhaul with.

10-Dreams of gods and monsters.

Again, I read the first 2  books quickly, but didn’t get into the last one quick enough, and now all the memories of the first two books are gone. I’m sure I should reread the trilogy, mainly because I loved the first two, but I also have some trepidation of how it might end.

So that’s my TBR list of shame. What’s yours? Do you have any immediate recommendations for me to get started on right away? What does your TBR look like?

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

