Books, Reading

the rampart growth of my TBR pile and what I plan to do about it…

 

My TBR (To Be Read) pile has morphed quickly and without much notice.

It used to be just about 40 books, all piled neatly at the end of my bed in which I took great pride to read one per month out of there (sometimes more depending on my mood).

However…since August, I have found several subscription sites for books (Owlcrate and Uppercase Box) and receive a YA hardcover each month. And also in August I started my BookTube channel. Which meant that I was buying more and more books.

Then came Black Friday/Shop Small Saturday/Cyber Monday. And I bought a lot of books. Too many actually, why I did, well because of sales and coupons and other random things like “Oh this book is only .79 I can’t pass that up”.

I had been trying to do a Read 5 Buy 1 book buying ban but it wasn’t really working. And now my TBR pile has grown into a scary 2.5 shelf situation. And I cannot have that many unread books around me.

For some reason when I have a lot of unread books around me, it makes me feel very anxious like I will never get through all these and somehow people will judge me because I haven’t read all these books.

So for the next couple of months I’m putting myself on a book buying ban. The only exception of this is there are 2 books that I’m waiting for (and have been waiting for since May) and so I can buy those. But other than that, nope. No book buying until I read 30 of the books on my TBR.

I do like having some unread books around me, but when they start stretching into triple digits that’s when I have to realize that I don’t have a point to having this many, and also I might be very close to being a book hoarder.

So I’m stepping back from buying. Hopefully this will also make me more aware of what books I want and how many I want to buy. πŸ™‚

I will be posting more reviews on here in the next couple of weeks, I’ve noticed I like writing the reviews better than doing a video for them, but either way works.

What’s y’all’s TBR look like? Are you overwhelmed like me? Or are you perfectly happy with what you have unread? Let me know below.

Happy reading!

Stephanie

 

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “the rampart growth of my TBR pile and what I plan to do about it…

  1. Sammies Book Nook says:

    OMG I’m the same way. I hit up Bookoutlet.com every now and then… and I find myself buying ten books at a time. I have four bookshelves that are all full… I now pile them neatly on the floor. I’m going to say there are probably 65+ books that I have yet to read haha. I just feel like if I don’t buy them right when I see them I’ll forget about them and well that would just be the worrrrrst! So I feel you!
    Our destiny is to be surrounded by a mixture of read and unread books… books are books though πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

