Books, Reading

Yes, Please: a bookish review

(Ok, this post is like 3 weeks overdue and I’m so sorry, but I’ve been…reading. Really that is why I haven’t been on here writing the reviews I promised. I was devouring books left and right, and also holiday stuff. So, I’m sorry and on to the book!)

Confession, I have a hard time getting into humor books as a whole, not really humor books that are comics or humor fiction. But I have a problem getting into the humor biography books. I have tried numerous times to read anything by Chelsea Handler (who I have heard is hilarious but I can’t) and I can’t even pick up Ellen’s books, which is a shame because I really think she’s hilarious. I did try early this year to pick up “Is everyone hanging out without me” and it sealed the deal, by which I mean I was convinced that humor just doesn’t translate well to the written page.

But then I picked up Yes, Please by Amy Poehlr, and I was hooked. Solidly from the start.

There were a few chapters that she could have tightened up, but on the whole, it was a refreshing and light read. Something that I was looking for, and something that was just well done.

I have no problem admitting that there were several times at which I laughed out loud so hard someone thought I was having an attack (honestly though, don’t read this where people are, you will embarrass yourself, also not with a full bladder, not a good idea). I loved this book.

The only drawback that I could see, was that there were a few chapters where she kinda seemed to forget where she had started it, and they were a little fuzzy, but for the whole, it was great.

I would rate this book 4/5 stars. This would be something I would recommend to someone who wanted a light read, and I would probably reread it if I wanted. I wouldn’t recommend it to someone who gets easily offended, doesn’t like certain words, and doesn’t want to laugh really hard, but for the most part it’s really good.

I strongly suggest that you check out this book, either at the library or that you go and buy it (hey it’s right after Christmas, hello gift cards!)

I enjoyed it immensely.

Back to reading!

Cheers!

Stephanie

Standard

Leave a Reply

